Please enable JavaScript
Email Marketing Services by Benchmark

Graham Audio Reviews

BBC LS3/5 Reveiws

The sound is eminently good, and ignores that they can not play tremendously high, nor is super dynamic, so you still have one of the best speakers I have ever heard. They are simply so thumping music that is quite touched when listening to his favorite music. Well of course, they also get the award "Editors Choice"

HIFI4ALL - July 2016

“I didn’t want to stop listening. As a child hearing my father playing Glenn Miller I was carted off back 40 years, and didn’t want to end my dream. The fun in “In the Mood” just made me smile. Each soloist, especially the saxophones that made Glen Miller sound so unique and the piano, too, was detailed and very authentic, and I never once felt that the lack of bass below 60Hz a problem. Indeed the pounding bass at 2’35” of “The Hunt of Baba-Yaga”, Pictures at an Exhibition, Mussorsky, would put to shame many speakers at double the size.”

Hi-Fi Pig - July 2016

“ ...Music is fundamentally about communication, and the LS3/5 is one of the great communicators among speakers. The LS3/5's ability to communicate the guts of music so effectively has its roots, I think, not only in the fundamental quality of its component parts and construction, but also in the care and attention to detail that was invested in the original desgin.”

Sound On SoundHi-Fi Plus - June 2016

"The lack of coloration, the accurate rendition of tonal colour does, there should be little doubt, set something of a benchmark and once you’ve heard how the LS3/5s portray tone, it does show up where otherwise fine loudspeakers fall short of the ideal."

Hi-Fi Plus - April 2016

"I do not undertake to judge whether the LS3/5 version Chartwell actually sound like the prototype, but also do not know if I really cares. The speakers are amazing. "

StereoLife - April 2016

 

BBC LS5/8 Reviews

“ The LS5/8 is extremely smooth across the midrange and bass, with an effortless dynamic range that only a big, easy-driving bass unit can bring.”

Hi-Fi Plus - October 2015

BBC LS5/9 Reviews

"The Grahams offer fantastic sound and stellar soundstaging. The longstanding BBC-inspired heritage of an opulent midrange has certainly continued through the new LS5/9."

Tone Audio - March 2016

“ It is sobering to realize just how right the BBC engineers had designed their speakers thirty years ago. Reborn and refined here with the expert guidance of Derek Hughes, Graham Audio's LS5/9 resets the bar for two-way speakers.”

Son & Image Magazine - October 2015

“ With the Grahams, to use an expression from my preteen daughters, they are "OMG! Awesome!" - both body and string tone. However, the treble was incisive enough to let the triangle sounds come through the recording mix clearly.”

Hi-Fi Today.com - October 2015

“ The midrange was where the magic was. Its performance was breathtaking with truthfulness to vocal pieces. The pair of Graham Audio LS5/9 can bring you the “right there” sensation when your eyes were closed.”

Hi-Fi Senses.com - September 2015

“ The LS5/9s are particularly good at revealing micro-dynamics – the slight changes in level that occur within a particular performance. Having worked with original LS5/9s in the past, it’s clear that Graham Audio has got its new revision absolutely right.”

MusicTech - December 2014

“ I would describe the LS5/9 as a true monitor, one that tells you a lot of inside information about the recording and its circumstances, but not in an overly analytical way”

The Ear - October 2014

“ I was no longer listening to speakers. I was listening to the musicians, or the singers, or the spoken voice, just as the BBC sound engineers, myself included, would have needed to hear. Forget all those fancy boxes or new technologies. It was all right, back in 1983, and it's still all right now.”

Hi-Fi Pig - October 2014

“ The tonal balance is spot on while individual musicians are clearly definable in the mix. In other words it's doing just what a studio monitor should by letting you hear the sound without imposing too much of its own character.”

Hi-Fi World - September 2014

“ Its timbre is always naturally warm and has no harmonic texture of its own; it simply projects the correct timbre of the musical instruments, which is quite rare for a loudspeaker”

Hxos - September 2014

“ The sound is unforced and this is very much at odds with the current vogue for music thrown at the listener. But it's not laid back, it's just right sounding. The further you investigate the way music sounds through this speaker, you quickly realise that it sounds like music. That isn't as oxymoronic as it first appears. This isn't steely sound, it's just sound, it isn't dark toned or toppy or coloured or anything else, it's just sounding like the music itself.”

Hi-Fi Plus - Issue 107

“ Graham Audio have managed to release the full potential of the LS5/9 design - they have an amazing stereo image”

James Towler, Wincraft Studios, Sound Engineer to Steve Winwood

“ Dear Paul

Now I'm the proud owner of a pair Graham LS5/9's! The speakers are absolutely amazing! Look superb and very british! They play very fine with my 50W tube amp (a 'Destiny Experience' EL 34 SVT from Thorsten Langer).

....And the sound: Unbelievable space, giant sounding, colorful, relaxed, playful, fine dynamics, warm, awesome stage ... Words with which journals would judge the sound. However, I'm just happy: When I come home after work, Kenny Burrell, Quincy Jones, Tom Waits, Marc Ribot, David Bowie or even Pink Floyd play LIVE in my living room now! Thank you very much for this perfect speakers!

All the best, and merry Christmas. Christoph Stadelmann. Switzerland ”

Customer Review

“ Hello Paul,

Many thanks for a quality pair of loudspeakers and matching stands. Everything about them exudes quality from the design, build, sound and even quality of packing and the materials used for packing are all top notch. A lot of care and attention have gone into it. Many speaker designers and manufacturers have a lot to learn from you guys. You are a quality company that needs serious recognition. Well done to all of you and congratulations. First class attitude and work ethics. This CUSTOMER is definitely very well pleased.

Best wishes Paul Benson, UK”

Customer Review